top 0

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter to get our top stories delivered straight to your inbox.

Copyright © 2024 LOCALIIZ | All rights reserved

Laugh Your Socks Off at the 10th Hong Kong International Comedy Festival

By Promotions 17 October 2016
[su_slider source="media: 72393,72392,72390,72383" limit="12" width="660" height="340" title="no"][su_slider source="media: 72180,72182,72185,72186,72187,72188,72189,72190,72191" width="660" height="440"][/su_slider] Get ready to laugh it up this month as The Hong Kong International Comedy Festival returns for its 10th annual tournament. Thirty international standup comedians will battle it out on stage for the most laughs in a series of rounds, with the top comedians passing though to the Finals for a shot at winning the $40,000 cash prize, and a coveted comedy tour of the USA. The competition runs from October 13 to October 21, with special headliner and TakeOut Comedy fan favourite, Paul Ogata, taking to the stage from October 27 to November 5.

Winners' Show

Winners from previous years will return for the first time to perform over a two-night special. Highlights include bi-lingual standup, Vivek Mahbubani, who was 2007's Chinese, and 2008's English International Comedy Fest Winner, alongside last year's winner from Shanghai, Drew Fralick. When: October 20 - 21, Thursday - Friday Where: Basement, 34 Elgin Street, Soho How much: $250 Tickets: To reserve tickets, click the button below or book by phone at (+852) 6220 4436 or email [email protected] [su_spoiler title="Winners Show Line Up" style="fancy" icon="chevron-circle"] [su_custom_gallery source="media: 72250" limit="2" link="custom" target="blank" width="300" height="200" title="never"][su_custom_gallery source="media: 40656,40650,40649" limit="3" link="image" target="blank" width="200" height="200" title="never"][/su_custom_gallery] Thursday, October 20 - Vivek Mahbubani (HK, 2008 Winner,, Ashley Strand (NYC, 2009 Winner,, Jason Leong (Malaysia, 2013 Winner, Friday, October 21 - Drew Fralick (Shanghai, 2015 Winner), Tom Schmidt (HK, 2007 Winner), Vivek Mahbubani (HK, 2008 Winner), Ashley Strand (NYC, 2009 Winner) [su_button url="" target="blank" style="flat" background="#ff9900" color="#ffffff" size="5" center="yes" radius="5"]Book Tickets Now![/su_button] [/su_spoiler] [su_button url="" target="blank" style="flat" background="#ff9900" color="#ffffff" size="5" center="yes" radius="5"]Book Tickets Now![/su_button]


paul-ogata-feature The Finals will feature the most epic international comics at the moment and will be hosted by TakeOut Comedy's first international comedian and fan favourite, Paul Ogata, who has appeared on Comedy Central, Showtime, and Late Late Show. We can't wait to see the following comedic super stars battle it out for $40,000 and a comedy tour of the USA.
  • Arun Govada (India, USA, HK)
  • Ben Quinlan (HK, Australia)
  • Deepak Chandran (Singapore, India)
  • Garron Chiu (HK, USA)
  • Hannan Azlan (Malaysia)
  • Sam Yarborough (Taiwan, USA)
  • Steve Lee (USA, HK, China)
  • Tamby Chan (HK, Canada)
  • Walter Hong (USA, South Korea)
When: Saturday, October 22, (8pm) Where: Cyberport, Function Rooms 1 - 3 How much: $300 Tickets: Available to buy at Ticketflap If that isn't enough comedy to fill your boots, don't fret, because Paul Ogata will be returning to headline TakeOut Comedy for the 24th time, from October 27 to November 5, at Champs in The Charterhouse hotel. Click here to find out more.


[su_spoiler title="Venues" style="fancy" icon="chevron-circle"]


[su_gmap width="300" height="220" address="22.281970, 114.152589"] Basement, 34 Elgin Street, Soho, Hong Kong


[su_gmap width="300" height="220" address="22.259356, 114.132386"] Cyberport 3, Function Rooms 1-3, 100 Cyberport Road


[su_gmap width="300" height="220" address="22.277957, 114.179109"] Champs, 209-219 Wan Chai Road, Charterhouse Hotel[/su_spoiler] [su_spoiler title="Previous Winners" style="fancy" icon="chevron-circle"]

Previous English Winners

  • 2015 Drew Fralick
  • 2014 Jim Brewsky
  • 2013 Jason Leong
  • 2012 Rishi Budhrani
  • 2011 Tama Churchouse
  • 2010 Andrew Chu
  • 2009 Ashley Strand
  • 2008 Vivek Mahbubani
  • 2007 Tom Schmidt

Previous Chinese Winners

  • 2012 Fab
  • 2011 Tim Chan
  • 2010 Christopher M
  • 2009 Yebi Hui
  • 2008 Fab
  • 2007 Vivek Mahbubani
[/su_spoiler] [su_button url="" target="blank" style="flat" background="#ff9900" color="#ffffff" size="5" center="yes" radius="5"]Book Tickets Now![/su_button]

Covering the hottest new eats, the best places to play, offbeat takes on local culture, and so much more, Localiiz is every Hongkonger’s destination for how to live a well-rounded life in our vibrant city. Why the strange spelling? Well, Localiiz is designed to be your ‘local eyes’—and for that, you need two i’s.